Fade to Black

After considering all of the advice that I have been given lately and much soul searching,  I have decided to discontinue the Wausaublog.  I will not be posting myself and will not be seeking or accepting any outside contributions.

It is true that I don’t have the time and energy for the blog that I once did, but ultimately it is the lack and conflict of interest issues that loom larger.

A big thank you goes out to everyone who has ever written for the blog, commented  here or contributed financially, I very much appreciate your efforts.  Also a big thank you to everyone who read the blog.

I achieved most of what I set out to do with the blog, and achieved one goal that was beyond my wildest dreams, so I will be forever grateful to the Wausaublog for that.

Personally, I feel that it is once again time to forsake the virtual world for the real world for a while, unpluggng electronically and trying to reconnect personally.

The only further posting that will be done here is if someone starts another blog that covers some of the same terrain as the Wausaublog.  If someone starts such a blog, I will post the link here.

Otherwise, that’s the news and I am out of here.

8 responses to “Fade to Black

  1. C’est la vie. According to the law of entropy everything fades to black.

    Godspeed.

  2. Looks like I might have gotten here too late for the party. Too bad.

    Have a good day, mate.

  3. Sorry to hear this site is closed down. I always liked your essays. Thanks for all your hard work in covering events and happenings. I enjoyed the lively conversations. The herald blogs just aren’t the same and hardly get any comments.

  4. Thanks for the kind words Ronnie. I don’t get on the Herald blogs at all, so I wouldn’t know. 🙂

  5. I do keep a similair blog…I accidentally deleted it last spring, and figured I’d just quit because of the time committment. But over the summer, so many ideas kept rolling through my mind that I wanted to blog about…and, well, I just sort of missed blogging. Turns out, I had an archive on my GOogle Desktop that I didn’t know I had, so I reinstated the blog articles and posted them here:

    http://www.packerland.blogspot.com/

    One of the reasons for my url change is that I don’t plan to blog JUST about Green Bay–rather, I plan to expand the scope and include some other articles about places around Wisconsin–not limited only to urban issues, I also have interests in geology and I may post some articles about special landforms and other geographic places around the state.
    So, if you have an urge to read a blog about places in Wisconsin, you can certainly read this. and comment.

  6. Oh, and P.S. I’ve always thought Wausaublog was a top-notch city blog. Kudos to all of you who initiated it.

  7. Best of luck with your Packerland blog, I know how much a commitment of time and energy it takes to do even a minimal blog about a community that is not just 3rd hand musings from an easy chair. Hopefully you can get good people that are willing to help out with that and it will grow and add to your city.

  8. I know one of the so-called “Rules of Blogging” is to post something nearly every day…Well, I’m going to break that rule. I figured it’s better to take time and put some quality into it rather than just quantity. I’ve got a new series of articles nearly ready to go, I’ll post them whenever time permits. I think I’ll also do articles that have “Lasting Value” rather than just time-sensitive articles.

    Again, great job with the Wausau blog and I will miss reading it!

Leave a Reply

