Friday Dudley: May 25, 2007

It is my plan that there only be one more regular Friday Dudley, next week on June 1. Then again, although the building was scheduled to open in “Spring 2007” it does not look like it will be ready in the next three to four weeks (I could be wrong, I know nothing of contstruction schedules) so I may continue to shoot a “Dudley” from time to time.

Click for Larger Image

8 responses to “Friday Dudley: May 25, 2007

  1. Make prints of these, and sell them. You will make some $$. They’re very good. They’re real, and they’re SPECTACULAR! ~Jackie Childs

  2. Selling prints for money? Whoda thunk it? 🙂

    Thank you very much for the kind words, good things have been happening for me on the photography front and hopefully they will continue to get better. Stay tuned.

  3. Your photo below of the sunset on Lake Wausau is far superior…during rare moments human beings can create beauty that rivals what is found in nature…this building is not one of those instances…it was not built for tomorrow…

  4. Overall I much prefer to take pure nature photos, but I can also see beauty in man made objects as well, both as they are being put together and coming apart. Personally, I do feel that older buildings in general have more personality to them and very much wish that, as a country, we spent more time and money restoring older buildings than building new ones.

    But there can be no doubt that the Dudley Tower is a significant addition to the city of Wausau. As to what that significance is, exactly, I will let tomorrow decide.

  5. Bill-
    I kind of assumed you were NOT selling these prints, because most photographers have one or all of the following as part of their online photos: 1) digital stamps/watermarks 2) restrictions from downloading 3) advertisements like “buy this” and so on.

    All of that stuff is annoying, so I’m glad you’re willing to share your awesome photos online w/o any strings attached.

  6. Ummmm…well actually I do sell my prints, and maybe I am just not smart enough to watermark them here on the blog. 🙂 The images here on the blog have been reduced in size and quality, so if someone did want to print it from the blog, it probably would not come out very well. And if someone did make a crummy print from here, I guess I would not want my name on it. 🙂 I do keep the original files and make prints from those, however.

    I will soon have a site up where people can order prints online and such — hopefully it will not be too irritating. 🙂 But I will continue to post “unemcumbered” photos here. Part of the wonder of the web is people sharing the weath, as it were. I know I have benefitted greatly from the kindness of strangers on the web, and I just feel like it is the right thing to do to give something back.

    Thanks very much for the kind words.

  7. Roger Janikowski

    Very Professional! This one needs to be used by Wausau Chamber of Commerce.

  8. I am a Dudley clan member from Texas – and am interested in a print of your beautiful shot of the building – also interested in shots of “Tribute Hall” – it has been fun to tune into your progress tracking periodically – take care – k

Leave a Reply

