Friday Dudley: March 9, 2007

OK, it is actually the Saturday Dudley. It took me most of the day Friday to clean out my van. It was grody. Grody to the max.

Click for Larger Image

5 responses to “Friday Dudley: March 9, 2007

  1. That is my favorite Dudley so far. The blue sky, the concrete…so sharp.

    This photographer guy is good.

    Does he have a flickr dealy?

  2. Well speaking of skyscrapers and the sort, I just went to Chicago this weeked, so I thought I would ask this question here.

    Big buildings, Expensive Gas

    Although I am no expert, nor do I have even a basic third grade understanding of the commodity market, but….
    The whole trip, seeing I had alot of time to talk to myself, I kept wondering, why is the gas so expensive again??
    I remember last summer how it was over $3.20 a gallon, and now it is at $2.60 a gallon, then one thing popped into my humble little head. Why during the elections when Busch so badly needed to keep his Repulican majority and lost it. Why then did the gas drop to $1.98??

    Was it just some bizarre coincidence?? Or was is it just some bizarre coincidence that a mere 4 months later it is up $.60?? Or a coicidence that 4 months earlier it was $1.20 more??

    hmmmm. Please help

    Sincerely,
    Lost and Scared in Wausau

  3. The photos are lovely, it is true. I had left a comment on a previous “Friday Dudley” blog post, which was a bit snarky. I posted a clarification to my snark, but I think the blog ate my reply. So I will post it here:

    Sorry for the confrontational tone. I must admit that I am not the biggest fan of the new building, but I do understand that many are excited about it. Perhaps I lack a properly sober understanding of how important this building is to our downtown economy, I dunno. I agree that the building draws attention to the riverfront in a “look at me, I’m a big building on the river front” kind of way. I guess that I had been eyeing up that lot for years, wondering if the city would do something aesthetically pleasing and also river-inclusive to it, something ala Hudson, for example, where the river front is a stretch of green space that seems to invite the entire city down to enjoy it. I agree we have our river-front spaces that are really great and functional, such as the kayak course. But I’d love to see something a little more open and easily viewed from the road – something that says, “get out of your car, and come to the river front”. I suppose the Dudley building just sort of covers it up, from my perspective.

    Anyway, sorry for the snark – I forget that the character of Wausau is so often defined by whatever economic development is happening at the moment, so it probably shouldn’t be a surprise that the Wausau Blog acts as a quasi-pantheon to that idea. And I can even support that. I personally just don’t want to see a big picture of it every single friday, especially when there are so many other aspects of the character of this city to explore. My $.02

    So … maybe I will come around to this Dud;ey building thing. Maybe not, though.

  4. I think Jodi’s remarks on this thread have been some of the most thought-provoking that I’ve yet seen on the WausauBlog.

    One of her comments deserves particular attention: “I forget that the character of Wausau is so often defined by whatever economic development is happening at the moment, so it probably shouldn’t be a surprise that the Wausau Blog acts as a quasi-pantheon to that idea.” I’d be very interested to hear what others think (as well as more from Jodi) about that idea.

  5. Charles:

    Good point. See my comment under March 2. Wausau needs more heart and less chest thumping IMHO.

    ED

Leave a Reply

