Take Your Sweetie to the Theatre

Eds Note:   OK, you can’t buy tickets for these for V Day gifts, but still good ideas!
OK, these shows are after Valentine’s Day, but tickets to these would be great gifts for your sweetie:

King & Swing
Saturday, February 17, 2007
7:30 PM / Grand Theater, Tickets: $8 – $14
Presented by: Wausau Symphony & Band

My Fair Lady
Thursday, February 22, 2007
6:30 PM / Grand Theater, Presented by Wausau Community Theatre.
Tickets only available at WCT Office . Call 359-3972.

7 responses to “Take Your Sweetie to the Theatre

  1. And don’t forget the Vagina Monologues at UWMC —

    UWMC students continue V-Day theatre production with proceeds going to charity

    Play The Vagina Monologues part of global non-violence effort

    For: Immediate Release, January 29, 2007
    Contact: Ann De Tienne, director and sophomore at UWMC
    (715) 581-2995, DETIA4509@uwc.edu

    For the second time in its five-year run at the University of Wisconsin – Marathon County, students will produce and direct the V-Day College Campaign, presenting the play, The Vagina Monologues, with proceeds going to the Women’s Community of Wausau and to the international V-Day cause.

    As part of a global movement to stop violence against women and girls, over 2,700 V-Day events will take place in the U.S. and around the world this February, in the form of benefit productions to raise money for organizations working to end that violence.

    This year’s play will be organized and directed by Ann De Tienne, a sophomore at UWMC majoring in women’s studies.

    The play will be presented on Friday, February 16 and Saturday, February 17 at 7:30 p.m. in the UWMC Theatre. Tickets, which can be purchased at the UWMC information desk or at the door, are $15 regular admission, $12 seniors, and $5 for all students.

    The Vagina Monologues is a play composed of interviews with a wide variety of women who are talking about their sexuality. Playwright Eve Ensler includes monologues that are humorous and others that are haunting accounts of rape and violence.

    Since the play was first staged in New York, it has become something of a phenomenon, with events being held in 81 countries from Europe to Asia, Africa and the Caribbean, and all of North America.

    V-Day, (Victory, Valentine and Vagina) a non-profit corporation, distributes funds to grassroots, national and international organizations and programs that work to stop violence against women and girls. In its first year of incorporation (2001), V-Day was named on of Worth Magazine’s “100 Best Charities.” The V-Day movement has raised over 31 million.

    For more information on the play, call Ann De Tienne at (715) 581-2995. The UWMC Theatre is located at 518 South 7th Avenue in Wausau.

  2. I love love.

  3. In the scheme of things the production is rather timely, I’d say. Certainly a worthwhile show. It (as well as being a former foster parent to teen boys and girls, working at Planned Parenthood, involvement as a mentor, life experience, etc.) certainly helped to define how I speak to my children (in what I believe to be age appropriate language) about such important life matters. I subscribe to the thought of open, honest dialogue including the proper names. It is my job as a parent to teach the kids that it is okay to talk – that talk is safe – and to respect ourselves through our thoughts, deeds and actions. I cannot remember if this production specifically addresses rape (I know some productions have a portion dedicated to “good rape” which does not exist in my book) . When I went to Man of La Mancha Saturday night I was shocked and saddened to watch the rape scene…but unfortunately that is part of the story (and the story of most of the women and know and love). Yes, I may be on a soap box here but I find casual flip remarks about such heinous acts insulting. Every once in a while I will listen to Rush (the man, not the band) just to make sure I haven’t lost my soul. At least he opens up dialogue (though I do not subscribe to his brand of delivery).

  4. I remind everyone that I once confused butterscotch lifesavers flavor with the flavor of scotch whiskey. So, when thinking of the fact that I do not have a girlfriend, remember, I am not that bright.

    But I am a very very good slow dancer.

  5. I never liked the band Rush. Seemed a little too Canadien for me.

  6. This is a perfect time to mention URINETOWN at UWMC.

    Awful title, fantastic show:

    March 9 & 10 @ 7:30pm
    March 11 @ 2:00pm
    March 14, 15 & 16 @ 7:30pm

    Tickets: 261-6230

  7. Thanks for the info guys (and gals). Great thread. Anyone else?

Leave a Reply

