Friday Dudley: January 26, 2007

Today was a very special day for me, and for the series of pictures that have been posted here. I got together today with Paul Schlindwein and he took me on the tour of the building. I don’t have much in the way of interior shots as it was late in the afternoon when we got together, and the lighting inside is at the moment pretty minimal, at least in photographic terms. But there will be other opportunities, and I look forward to documenting the construction process up until the building opens.

This is from this morning, in the lovely ice fog that greeted us today.

Click for Larger Image
This the view from the third floor, where it opens on to the atrium at the main entrance to the building.

Click for Larger Image
This is a view looking east from the observation walkway, which is located under the pyramid of the roof.  If you knew me well, you would know how amazing this shot really is.

Click for Larger Image

While talking to Paul in the building, he gave me what I consider to be a scoop. I was certainly surprised, but I will report on that in a separate post. Stay tuned. 🙂

8 responses to “Friday Dudley: January 26, 2007

  1. Lucky guy! For some reason, I am particularly fond of the 3rd shot.

  2. Yup, that third picture is pretty cool. Looks like the building is coming along great, can’t wait till there’s some lighting so I can visit sometime and get some night shots.

  3. Congraulations on the 3rd shot. Maybe next time you can take your Dad with you

  4. Hmmm…I wonder why you like that shot, Lisa? And Eeyore, if you knew that I was 10 stories up on a outdoor observation “deck” that was about six feet wide and the “railing” was some 2×4’s nailed together (and I had to walk up to them to get them out of the picture) what you would think then? 🙂

    Yes, I am a very lucky guy and I thank all those that have contributed to that “luck.” And I am very much looking forward to documenting what happens inside over the next several months. Maybe even more than once a week, we shall see.

    Stay tuned.

  5. Welcome to the wonderful world of construction. It never gets old.

    Some of the things I am most proud of are construction projects that I had a fairly large roll in. I don’t have kids.. so watching our Mosinee Condo project grow and start to sell…

    Or… watching the transformation that has taken an old factory on 1st Ave and changing it into the Pied Piper Plaza. The space that is the Tea Palace, whatching that evolve.. those are my kids.

    As we speak.. I have two large undertakings… we are looking at high end residential on the second floor of that old warehouse.. and a facade update on a different west side building.

    I have never been involved in anything as big as the Dudley building.. and is doubtful that I will. But even if only a 3 BR single family home, seeing a new home that you designed… you conceptualized… and before it was land.. and now someone calls it home………..

    Bill, that is why we do this………. and seeing a building full of occupants.. tenants.. owners… customers.. business owners.. its like seeing a child graduate college and make a difference in the world.

  6. Wow. I don’t care how blustery it is, that first picture is amazing. I can’t believe such a grand building has taken shape in Wausau. Along with the Freeway construction and the Mall rehab, Wausau is really taking shape. My grandma lives up there and she always talks about what a horrible deserted town Wausau is. I swear she must never go downtown. Thanks for the updates Wausaublogger.

  7. Thanks for the kind words AJ. The first picture is not blowing snow, just plain old fog. And it is always funny to me how most people dis their own hometown. I guess the grass looks greener. But I have been fortunate to run with a crowd here that knows better. Wausau has a lot going for it, and we are pretty darn pleased with that.

  8. Positive thinking is such a big part of making a better community, while negative thinking does much to hold us back. It is refreshing to hear from people who are contributributing positive energy to Wausau and celebrating the successes we are achieving here.

    “Change your thoughts and you change your world.”

    — Norman Vincent Peale

Leave a Reply

