Seen at The Scott Street Pub…

Mike Huberty’s dad’s underwear!

Scott Street Pub SpecialsAs Dino so accurately put it, the Sunspot juggernaut did hit Wausau on Saturday night at Scott Street, and I was lucky enough to be there and witness things I have never seen before (and some I hope I never see again).

Let me begin by saying, I have never been to the Scott Street Pub in my life so this was going to be a new experience for me regardless. In fact, since I moved back to Wausau, I haven’t really done much in the way of nightlife. Having 2 young children will put a tremendous damper on your social life. In fact, I was almost dreading the show, as it was beginning at a time when most nights, I would be soundly sleeping. But, I persevered, and made my way downtown.

As I walked in the first thing I noticed was the cross-section of people in the bar. From a pointy Mohawk to a mom and dad watching their son play in a band, to people I work with everyday, you couldn’t classify this group in any holistic way and truly do it justice.

The bar is an awesome place to watch a band. If you’ve never experienced that, please do yourself a favor. It’s an intimate venue and the acoustics are great (although ear shatteringly loud).

As I settled by the bar, the opening band, Jeff Gay and the Straights (I think) began to play. They had clearly already been in the spirit of the evening and 2 of their members had already decided to beat the summer heat by playing in their boxer shorts. I actually enjoyed their set, even though it’s not usually what I listen to. It was a lot of punk and ska type music, and far too much rambling between songs, but in the end, I really enjoyed it. It’s cool to watch people so into their music. That transfers to the crowd, and all has a good time.

Then it was time for the headliner. I was looking forward to seeing Sunspot again. They played a benefit concert I helped put together last year and Dino introduced me to them. They were all cool people and great to work with. Plus, I really dig their music.

Sunspot proceeded to play until almost 2 a.m. and from “Prozac Girl” to “Scott Bakula” they played all the songs I was hoping to hear and even unveiled a couple of new tunes. The bar’s small, but spirited crowd enjoyed every minute and was treated to one hell of a show!

By the end of the evening, there was no holding back. There were stage divers, sing-alongs and something that resembled an old-school burlesque show. That’s about all I can say though, because I seem to remember reading in City Pages “What happens at Scott Street stays at Scott Street.”

Scott Street Sign
I’ll tell you this, though…it made for one great memory, and more importantly, I think I’ll do it again sometime.

One response to “Seen at The Scott Street Pub…

  1. Oh god, what happened?

Leave a Reply

