Weekends in Wausau

Dan sent this little letter to the rest of us:

My memorial day weekend was a roller coaster ride to be sure, but it ended well. First off, another record label has started contacting me with their media needs, claiming me as their Wisconsin guy, which, I must say, rocks. Then, as it turns out, City Pages won a WAMI (Wisconsin Area Music Industry) peoples choice award for their music coverage, and I do most of it! That was cool, and I didn't even know about it until a band that I was interviewing handed me the award. I was shocked and proud and so happy all at once that I could barely continue on with the interview. The show was great and I had a lot of fun and ended up getting slightly shitfaced and then even more drunk at an afterbar. That was my Friday and early Saturday.

The rest of Saturday was alright, Sunday was tough, and Monday was great for reasons not friendly to an all ages blog, and now that all is over and the smoke has cleared, the articles are written and all that jazz, life is once again slowing down a little bit and as I look back, those few incidents added up to one hell of a holiday weekend for me.

Check out my review of the Boxkar show this Thursday in City Pages. -PLUG!

And what about that weather? Most native Wisconsinites are not accustomed to that much warmth and humidity but I love it! I sat around and did not much and just relaxed for the most part. If you want to learn how to deal with the heat this summer, I would have to recommend that you watch your pets if they are mammals. My cats lay around all day and hardly move. Then during the evening they start doing all of their cute cat things. This is how you should run your life, you mammal, during warm months that seem to go by in, like, 20 minutes here. Get out and enjoy it quick, but don't sit and bitch that it is too hot or that it won't last (like I just did, in a way).

My personal experiences aside, the summer version of Wausau usually is akin to a ghost town of the old west since the vast majority of our residents are headed for the northwoods now that they are devoid of snow. There is still action to be had in this slimmed down urban domain as my little holiday goes to show, and this is where I tend to stay year round as I am not the woodsy type so that thought makes me feel a little bit better about the whole shit.

Anyway, as a wrap-up, what I said, in summery, is that you should live like animals, indulge in private things, and then post them on the internet.

Later, Dan Newman

Leave a Reply

