A Vision Statement — Of Sorts

When I was first considering getting this whole thing started, I was told that I needed a “vision statement” for where the Wausaublog was going. I didn’t really want to do that, because I wanted to see where it might go on it’s own. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a picture in my head of what I would like to see. And a picture in the head is not a vision, right?

But now that vision is out of my head and can be seen by everyone. No, not here. Not yet anyway. But down in that cauldron of liberality called Madison. Dane101 is a collaborative effort, one that I hope we can emulate eventually. Not in content, but in form at least.

Ironically, they are using the very same software that I would first think of for runnng what I hope will eventually happen here. They are using a content management system (CMS) which is just a fancy way of saying a blog of blogs.

The way it basically works is that people can either be selected to blog or sign up for blogs on the site and a ringmaster or masters can pick and choose from those blogs things to go on the front page. Or to use a food metaphor, underneath is a bubbling gumbo and the head chef ladels up the tastiest morsels.

We will get there, I can see it.

Leave a Reply

